Loading Events
This event has passed.

Welcome to the 3rd Joint Annual Meeting of the IEEE Magnetics Society and IEEE Nanotechnology Council Chicago Chapters, to be held virtually on Zoom on Friday, December 3, 2021!

The meeting will convene local and international academics, professionals and students with broad interests in magnetics and nanotechnology. The meeting will provide a forum for highlighting the latest advances in magnetism, spintronics, nanotechnology, and nanoelectronics, and will provide opportunities to facilitate networking and collaboration.

There are no Registration Fees, but registration is required. 

Confirmed Speakers and Agenda:

Morning: 9:00am – 11:30am (25 min / talk including Q&A)

  • Bert Koopmans, Eindhoven University of Technology, the Netherlands (IEEE Magnetics Society Distinguished Lecturer 2020-2021): “Femto-magnetism meets spintronics: Towards integrated magneto-photonics”
  • Elena Rozhkova, Argonne National Laboratory (IEEE Nanotechnology Council Distinguished Lecturer 2021): “Merging Nanotechnology and Synthetic Biology toward Directed Evolution of Energy Materials”
  • Nora Dempsey, Institut Néel, CNRS and Université Grenoble Alpes, France: “Hard magnetic films, from model systems to micro-system applications”
  • Axel Hoffmann, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign: “Hybrid Magnon Modes”
  • Matthew Rosenberger, University of Notre Dame: “Nanometer-scale engineering and analysis of transition metal dichalcogenides with atomic force microscopy” 
  • Robert Hovden, University of Michigan: “Stabilizing 2D Charge Density Waves using Confined Polytypes”

Afternoon: 1:00pm – 3:05pm (25 min / talk including Q&A)

  • Pramey Upadhyaya, Purdue University: “Quantum defect spin and magnet hybrids: a new platform for quantum spintronics”
  • Jie Xu, Argonne National Laboratory: “Polymer engineering at nanoscale for skin-like electronics”
  • Bayaner Arigong, Florida A&M University – Florida State University College of Engineering: “Engineered Nanoparticle for RF/Microwave and Optical Application” 
  • Saima Siddiqui, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (2021 IEEE Chicago Early Career Award in Magnetics): “In-memory computing with novel magnetic devices”
  • Rohit Batra, Argonne National Laboratory (2021 IEEE Chicago Early Career Award in Nanotechnology): “Nanostructure Self-assembling Peptide Discovery: Overcoming Human Bias Using Machine Learning”

Chicago, IL


December 3
9:00 am - 3:00 pm CST
Event Category:
Register Here »

Share This Story, Choose Your Platform!