It is with great pleasure that the Chicago Section is proud to announce that two Fellows were elected to the National Association of Engineers (NAE) in 2016. Wanda Reder, Chief Strategy Officer of S& C Electric and Dr. Mohammad Shahidehpour, Bodine Chair ECE and Director of the Galvin Center IIT Chicago, were recently elected to NAE which is the one of the highest achievements for engineers worldwide.

Founded in 1964, the National Academy of Engineering (NAE) is a private, independent, nonprofit institution that provides engineering leadership in service to the nation. The mission of the National Academy of Engineering is to advance the well-being of the nation by promoting a vibrant engineering profession and by marshalling the expertise and insights of eminent engineers to provide independent advice to the federal government on matters involving engineering and technology.

The NAE has more than 2,000 peer-elected members and foreign members, senior professionals in business, academia, and government who are among the world’s most accomplished engineers. They provide the leadership and expertise for numerous projects focused on the relationships between engineering, technology, and the quality of life.

The NAE is part of The National Academies of Sciences, Engineering, and Medicine. The NAE operates under the same congressional act of incorporation that established the National Academy of Sciences, signed in 1863 by President Lincoln. Under this charter the NAE is directed “whenever called upon by any department or agency of the government, to investigate, examine, experiment, and report upon any subject of science or art.”

Please join me in congratulating both Wanda and Dr. Shahidehpour on their outstanding accomplishment.

-Vickie L. Peters
Immediate Past Chair & Advisory Committee