2020 Vision – Dr Valentine Novosad

Happy New Year’s greetings and warm wishes from the Amundsen–Scott South Pole Station, literally the southernmost place on the Earth! I am looking forward to another great year for the IEEE Chicago. Here below, I attempted to outline my vision for 2020. I also welcome suggestions and ideas for our work, hoping for your active… Read more


The Chicago Section’s PACE Chair, Elsa Madrigal, and WIE Chair, Nina Rouhanizadeh, arranged a tour of Panduit’s Jack E. Caveney Innovation Center (JECIC). Panduit Corp. is a leading global provider of innovative electrical and network infrastructure solutions. The JECIC is named for one of the most prolific inventors in the industry and the founder of… Read more


On December 10, 2019, the IEEE Chicago Section held its annual awards dinner. Megan Czach, the new Awards Chair, made the arrangements. The 39 attendees included ExCom members, award winners, and their guests. The award winners are listed below. The Certificates of Appreciation were given to the IEEE Chicago Section 125th Anniversary Team who put on… Read more

Mommy, Me, and Technology

Polished Pebbles partnered with IEEE to host a special hands-on workshop, “ Mommy, Me, and Technology” on Saturday, November 23rd. Polished Pebbles is a non-profit organization focused on the empowerment, mentorship and development of girls in the Greater Chicago Metropolitan area. “ Every week when we get down to Polished Pebbles time, I start my… Read more

Wheaton STEM Expo 2019

On November 8th, members of the IEEE Chicago Section manned a table at the Wheaton STEM Expo 2019. The first photo shows UIC student branch member Stephany Pham showing Connie Kelly, the section’s Educational Activities Chair, how electricity works. Bob Hoffmann with the section’s EMC chapter brought the equipment and set up the table for… Read more

Joint Annual Meeting IEEE Magnetics Society and IEEE Nanotechnology Council Chicago Chapters

November 21, 2019 Welcome to the inaugural Joint Annual Meeting of the IEEE Magnetics Society and IEEE Nanotechnology Council Chicago Chapters. The meeting will convene local academics, professionals and students with broad interests in magnetics, and nanotechnology. The meeting will provide a unique forum for highlighting the latest research results in magnetic materials, nanomagnetics, nanotechnology,… Read more

MxD Tour a Success

The Chicago chapter of the Power & Energy Society and the Chicago Section’s Young Professionals Affinity Group held an event on October 10th at MxD. MxD is a manufacturing hub headquartered in Chicago that aims to drive the digital future of manufacturing, pioneering new technologies that make America’s industrial base more resilient and agile. Attendees heard… Read more

Chicago Section 2020 Officer Slate Announced

The slate for the 2020 IEEE Chicago Section Officers has been announced: Chair: Valentine Novosad Vice Chair: Sachin Kumar Treasurer: Brook Abegaz Secretary: Dana Al-Qadi Val is currently the section’s Vice Chair and the Chair of IEEE Chicago Magnetics Society Chapter. In 2019, Val has been instrumental in adding and reviving society chapters. The section… Read more

A Packed House at Women in Engineering AI Leadership Summit

On Friday September 20th, a sold-out crowd attended the IEEE Women in Engineering AI Leadership Summit in Naperville, IL. The program started with Anne Lee, a Bell Labs Fellow, providing an overview of Artificial Intelligence. Thereafter, attendees learned how AI is changing the world in city management, medicine, location-based services, cyber security, sports, telecommunications, energy,… Read more

IEEE Day Is Coming!!!!!

IEEE Day may be ten years old, but IEEE is over 100! In 1884 a group of engineers met to share ideas and the forerunner of IEEE was born. For the past ten years, IEEE members worldwide have met to celebrate the organization and its accomplishments. Tuesday, October 1, from 6 pm to 9 pm, members and guests will come together at Oakton College, 1600 Golf Rd, Des Plaines, to celebrate one hundred and thirty-five years of IEEE.  While members and guests are enjoying refreshments, IEEE… Read more